Media and Public Engagement

2019

Neos Kosmos magazine, Australia: https://neoskosmos.com/en/148688/greek-academic-dr-olga-panagiotopoulou-pursuing-a-rich-life-in-science-in-australia/

https://neoskosmos.com/el/226930/olga-panagiotopoulou-akolouthisa-to-oneiro-mou/

Kathimeri, Kappa magazine, Greece: http://www.kathimerini.gr/1014089/gallery/periodiko-k/an8rwpoi/apo-th-melvoyrnh-me-agaph]

ICVM 2022: https://www.cairnsconvention.com.au/world-leading-scientists-head-to-cairns/

Wombats’ jaws change shape to eat different foods, research shows Wombat:

The Age

My Science: 

Science Daily

Mirage news

BrightSurf:

Phys.org:

Brisbane Times

UQ News Jaw-some wombats may be great survivors: 

2017

Conversation Africa: Why elephants kept in captivity suffer from sore feet http://theconversation.com/why-elephants-kept-in-captivity-suffer-from-sore-feet-70217

2016

ABC Australia: Pressure sensing technology to analyse elephant walking traits and prevent foot disease http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-10-05/pressure-sensing-tech-analyse-elephant-walk-traits-foot-disease/7902516?section=qld

The University of Queensland News: Research to keep elephants in captivity on their feet https://www.uq.edu.au/news/article/2016/10/research-keep-elephants-captivity-their-feet

SBS: Sore feet? Elephants in captivity have sad experience with that

http://www.sbs.com.au/topics/science/nature/article/2016/10/05/sore-feet-elephants-captivity-have-sad-experience

ZME Science: http://www.zmescience.com/ecology/animals-ecology/elephants-walking-tip-toes/

Molibso GmbH newsletter: The reason why elephants don’t wear running shoes:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtFTr7zrF6A

Research to help racehorses put their best foot forward

Horsetalk New Zealand: http://www.horsetalk.co.nz/2017/01/21/steel-horseshoes-mechanical-loading-foot/#axzz4WQR71WDj

The Hoof Blog: https://hoofcare.blogspot.com.au/2016/07/olga-panagiotopoulou-biomechanics-horseshoe-research.html

UQ news: https://www.uq.edu.au/news/article/2016/07/research-help-racehorses-put-their-best-foot-forward

EurekaAlert: http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2016-07/uoq-rth071816.php

Architecture of the sperm whale forehead facilitates ramming combat

UQ news: https://www.uq.edu.au/news/article/2016/04/moby-dick-whale-tale-maybe-not-so-fictional

Science AAAS: http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2016/04/sperm-whale-foreheads-may-be-specialized-ramming

Science news: https://www.sciencenews.org/blog/wild-things/sperm-whale%E2%80%99s-head-built-ramming

The Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com.au/entry/sperm-whales-use-heads-as-battering-rams_us_57068ec8e4b053766188f70a?section=australia

The New Daily: http://thenewdaily.com.au/life/2016/04/10/science-proves-moby-dick/

Science Daily: https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2016/04/160405094055.htm

PLOS Ecology Blog: http://blogs.plos.org/ecology/2016/04/05/sperm-whale-heads-may-serve-as-battering-rams/

Telegram.com: http://www.telegram.com/article/20160410/ENTERTAINMENTLIFE/160419938

Eurekalert: http://www.eurekalert.org/emb_releases/2016-04/uoq-hwh040416.php

Radio New Zealand: http://www.radionz.co.nz/national/programmes/afternoons/audio/201796316/moby-dick-demystified-dr-olga-panagiotopoulou

New Zealand Herald: http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11619364

Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/animalia/wp/2016/04/07/science-shows-how-moby-dick-could-totally-have-sunk-that-whaling-ship/

Heritage Daily: http://www.heritagedaily.com/2016/04/hard-whale-heads-sink-ships-or-can-they/110481

Business insider Australia: http://www.businessinsider.com.au/science-says-moby-dick-may-actually-have-been-able-to-sink-ships-five-times-his-size-2016-4

Dailymail.co.uk: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3524442/Male-sperm-whales-use-massive-foreheads-ram-love-rivals-Study-finally-confirms-long-standing-theory.html

Live Science: http://www.livescience.com/54302-could-sperm-whales-sink-ships.html

Phys Org: http://phys.org/news/2016-04-hard-whale-shipsor.html

Real Clear Science: http://www.realclearscience.com/2016/04/05/sperm_whales_are_great_at_ramming_269825.html

SWNS: http://swns.com/news/male-sperm-whales-do-use-their-foreheads-to-ram-love-rivals-and-ships-new-research-confirms-the-long-standing-theory-72491/

Nature World News: http://www.natureworldnews.com/articles/20558/20160407/sperm-whale-s-forehead-intended-used-battles-hunting-junk-organ-ramming-impact-stresses.htm

Science World Report: http://www.scienceworldreport.com/articles/37997/20160407/large-forehead-aids-sperm-whales-aggressive-ramming.htm

Headlines and Global News: http://www.hngn.com/articles/195154/20160405/sperm-whale-evolved-forehead-ramming-combat.htm

Yahoo News: https://www.yahoo.com/news/real-life-moby-dick-testing-sperm-whales-ramming-142942832.html

Laboratory equipment news:http://www.laboratoryequipment.com/news/2016/04/researchers-test-theory-sperm-whales-ramming-behavior

Brief Report UK news:http://www.briefreport.co.uk/news/male-sperm-whales-do-use-their-massive-foreheads-to-ram-love-rivals-study-finally-confirms-the-long-standing-theory-4047417.html

Gizmodo:http://gizmodo.com/sperm-whales-are-the-world-s-largest-battering-rams-1769200912

I4U News http://www.i4u.com/2016/04/108207/sperm-whales-may-use-their-head-battering-ram-sink-ships

IFL Science: http://www.iflscience.com/plants-and-animals/moby-dick-could-have-been-true

The Maritime Executive: http://www.maritime-executive.com/article/could-moby-dick-do-it

Futurity: http://www.futurity.org/moby-dick-sperm-whales-1132502-2/

PerfScience: http://perfscience.com/content/2143610-sperm-whales-may-have-evolved-way-smash-each-other-large-foreheads

Value Walk: http://www.valuewalk.com/2016/04/sperm-whale-uses-head-weapon/

Alaska Native News: http://alaska-native-news.com/moby-dick-whale-tale-maybe-not-so-fictional-22244

Main News Online: http://mainenewsonline.com/content/16048115-sperm-whale-s-forehead-built-ram-other-whales-when-competing

Pulse Headlines: http://www.pulseheadlines.com/sperm-whales-ship-rammers/24429/

Canada Journal: http://canadajournal.net/science/researchers-answer-weird-question-moby-dick-45968-2016/

SINC: http://www.agenciasinc.es/Noticias/La-cabeza-de-los-cachalotes-un-arma-para-embestir

The Wire India: http://thewire.in/2016/04/12/do-sperm-whales-use-their-heads-as-battering-rams-29063/

2015

Perfect pedicure for captive elephants

Channel 11, Scope Science TV show for children http://tenplay.com.au/channel-eleven/scope/season-3/episode-71

Biomechanics com, Daily Mail UK, UQ Press, NZ healthtec, Journalisted

2014

Alpacas Australia (Issue 74,page 25) Effects on Foot Pressure

2012

BBC (BBC Breakfast, BBC News Online, BBC Radio Scotland): Rhino foot pressures

ITV (TV, website): Rhino foot pressures

ITV Anglia Tonight: Rhino foot pressures

Colchester Gazette: Rhino foot pressures

MSNBC: Rhino foot pressures

TruthDive: Rhino foot pressures

Daily Mail.co.uk: Rhino foot pressures

International Zoo News Vol. 59,. N0 1, pp. 34-39: Rhino foot pressures

Discovery Channel of Canada, Daily Planet: Rhino foot pressures

2011

Discovery Channel of Canada, Daily Planet: Pig foot pressures